C1000-201 logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C1000-201 Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling

TL;DR
  • C1000-201 is delivered through Pearson VUE, so you pick your own appointment slot rather than waiting for a fixed testing window.
  • The exam has 63 multiple-choice questions, a 90-minute limit, and a pass mark of 45 correct answers.
  • Test-center and OnVUE availability depends on exam and country eligibility, so check your location before planning a date.
  • Workflow Development (25%) and User Development (22%) together cover 47% of objectives; sequence study around them.

There Is No Fixed Exam Calendar

Candidates searching for "C1000-201 exam dates" often expect a published calendar: a spring window, a fall window, a registration deadline. That is not how this exam works. IBM Business Automation Workflow v25.0.0 Developer - Professional is an on-demand, proctored exam delivered through Pearson VUE under the IBM Professional Certification Program. In practice, your "exam date" is whichever appointment you book, subject to slot availability at your chosen delivery location.

The current exam and credential are marked Live, which means they are open for booking now. The credential itself is IBM Certified Business Automation Workflow v25.0.0 Developer - Professional (credential code C9008800), and it replaces the earlier credential C0010500. If you see older material referencing the previous credential code, treat it as outdated for scheduling purposes.

Why this matters for planning: Without a fixed calendar, your real deadline is self-imposed. The risk is not missing a window; it is booking too early, before you have covered the heavier objectives, or drifting indefinitely because nothing forces a decision. A booked appointment is the only deadline that exists, so treat it as a planning tool.

What You Are Actually Booking

Before choosing a date, be clear on the exam you are sitting. The details below come from IBM's current exam record and are specific to C1000-201.

ItemC1000-201 Detail
IssuerIBM (IBM Professional Certification Program)
Exam code / credential codeC1000-201 / C9008800
Testing providerPearson VUE
Questions63 total (scored vs. unscored split not specified in retrieved official sources)
Time limit90 minutes
FormatMultiple-choice; the official sample shows single-answer selection items
Passing score45 correct answers out of 63 per IBM's current exam record
LanguageEnglish
FeeCurrent USD amount not independently verified from an issuer price record; secondary sources report USD 200

The timing math is worth internalizing when you pick a slot: 90 minutes across 63 questions leaves roughly 85 seconds per item on average. That is comfortable for recall questions but tight for scenario items that ask you to reason through a process model or a service integration. Book a time of day when you are sharpest. For detail on how the pass mark works, see our breakdown of the C1000-201 passing score; the published figure is 45 of 63, and the rounded 71% quoted by commercial pages is not the precise published count.

Scheduling Mechanics Through Pearson VUE

The scheduling path runs through IBM's certification pages and then Pearson VUE's IBM program page. The sequence below reflects how IBM-program exams are generally booked; confirm the exact screens on the current Pearson VUE site, since interfaces change.

  1. Locate the exam record. Start from IBM's exam record for C9008800 and follow the link to Pearson VUE for scheduling.
  2. Sign in or create an account. You will use a Pearson VUE web account tied to your name as it appears on your identification.
  3. Select the exam. Choose C1000-201, IBM Business Automation Workflow v25.0.0 Developer - Professional, and your preferred delivery option.
  4. Pick a date and time. Available slots depend on delivery location and, for remote delivery, your country's eligibility.
  5. Pay. Confirm the fee shown at checkout rather than relying on a figure you read elsewhere. Our C1000-201 certification cost guide explains why the USD 200 figure should be treated as a secondary-source claim until verified at checkout.
Name-match caution: Pearson VUE checks identification at the door or during online check-in. The name on your booking must match your ID. Fix mismatches before exam day, not on it.

Test Center vs. OnVUE Availability

C1000-201 is proctored. Depending on exam and country eligibility, you may be able to test at a Pearson VUE test center or remotely through OnVUE. This is a genuine fork in your scheduling decision, and eligibility is not guaranteed for both options in every country.

Choosing a Delivery Mode

Both modes are proctored and both exclude notes and unauthorized materials under IBM policy. The differences are practical.

  • Test center: controlled environment, no home-network risk, but you must travel and fit a limited local slot calendar.
  • OnVUE (where eligible): maximum scheduling flexibility, but you must satisfy workspace, device, and connectivity checks.
  • Eligibility check first: confirm that C1000-201 is offered through your preferred mode in your country before building a study plan around a date.

Whether the exam is adaptive, and whether an on-screen calculator is provided, was not specified in the retrieved sources. Do not assume either; the Business Automation Workflow objectives are conceptual and design-oriented rather than arithmetic-heavy, so a calculator is unlikely to matter much to your preparation.

Choosing a Date That Fits the Blueprint

The right exam date depends on how quickly you can cover six objective sections. IBM's current exam record lists these domains with weights:

DomainWeight
Architecture14%
Workflow Development25%
User Development22%
Service Development14%
Error Handling, Debugging, and Troubleshooting13%
Deployment and Governance12%
Source conflict to know about: IBM's linked study guide lists Architecture at approximately 13% and names section 3 "User Interface Development," while the IBM Training record shows Architecture at 14% and the third section as "User Development." The study guide publishes no percentage for the other five sections. We follow the IBM Training record and have not normalized or inferred any weights. For the full objective-level breakdown, read the C1000-201 exam domains guide.

Because Workflow Development and User Development together account for 47% of the objectives, a candidate who is strong on process modeling and weak on everything else is still exposed. Conversely, strong coverage of those two plus the smaller domains is what makes an early booking safe. A useful readiness test before you commit to a date: can you explain, without notes, how a process application is built, how coaches and user interfaces are assembled, how services are invoked, and how a deployment moves between environments? If any of those is hazy, push the date.

IBM describes Professional-level candidates as having at least two years of hands-on experience. That is a candidate profile, not a separately verified admission prerequisite, so nothing stops you from booking. It should, however, inform how much lead time you give yourself if your hands-on exposure to the platform is limited. Our C1000-201 requirements guide covers what is and is not mandatory, and how hard the C1000-201 exam is helps you calibrate lead time against your background.

A Domain-Ordered Countdown

If you book an appointment roughly five weeks out, here is one way to sequence the objectives so the highest-weight content is covered first and revisited. This is a scheduling aid tied to the blueprint, not a universal prescription; compress or stretch it to match your experience.

Week 1

Architecture + Workflow Development (start)

  • Establish the platform architecture and component roles that later domains assume.
  • Begin process modeling work: process applications, process flow, and the constructs the exam names.
Week 2

Workflow Development (finish) + User Development

  • Complete the largest domain (25%) while it is fresh.
  • Move into user-facing development, the second-largest at 22%.
Week 3

Service Development + Error Handling, Debugging, and Troubleshooting

  • Cover service integration and the debugging approaches the objectives name.
  • Practice diagnosing failure scenarios, since this domain rewards applied reasoning.
Week 4

Deployment and Governance + weak-area repair

  • Cover promotion between environments and governance concepts.
  • Revisit whichever earlier domain scored worst on practice questions.
Week 5

Timed full-length practice

  • Sit 63-question runs against a 90-minute clock.
  • Aim to clear 45 correct consistently before your appointment, with margin.

For a fuller preparation framework, the C1000-201 study guide expands on resources and approach, and the C1000-201 cheat sheet is useful for final-week review. You can also run timed drills on the main practice test site.

Version Currency and Retirement Risk

This exam is tied to Business Automation Workflow v25.0.0, and it is currently marked Live. IBM's credential record notes that C9008800 supersedes C0010500, which is a reminder that IBM does move credentials forward as product versions change. We did not verify a retirement date for this exam, and no printed revision date appears on the study guide: its PDF metadata suggests August 2025 creation, but that does not establish a formal blueprint edition.

The practical lesson for scheduling: check the exam record for the Live status before you pay, and avoid building a plan around an unverified assumption that the exam will remain available indefinitely. If you are on the fence, a booked appointment gives you a concrete target and protects against version transitions you cannot predict.

Key Takeaway

Verify three things on IBM's current exam record before you book: the exam status (Live), the objective weights, and the delivery options for your country. Those are the facts most likely to change your plan.

Logistics for the Final 48 Hours

Whichever mode you choose, handle the administrative items early.

  • Re-confirm the appointment in your Pearson VUE account, including time zone, which catches many remote bookings.
  • Prepare ID that matches the booking name exactly.
  • Remove notes and materials. IBM policy excludes notes and unauthorized materials; plan for a clear desk or a locker, depending on mode.
  • If testing via OnVUE, run the system and connectivity check in advance and prepare a clear, private workspace.
  • Plan your pacing: with 63 questions in 90 minutes, flag long scenario items and return to them rather than letting one question consume several minutes.

On question style: the official sample demonstrates single-answer multiple-choice selection. A complete live-exam item-type specification, and whether any practical or hands-on component exists, was not verified, so prepare for multiple-choice and check the current exam record for any updates. If you want a sense of how difficult the items feel before exam day, the C1000-201 pass rate article explains why no reliable published pass-rate figure should be assumed.

What We Could Not Verify

Honest scheduling advice includes the gaps. The following were not confirmed from an accessible issuer source, so check them directly with IBM or Pearson VUE rather than relying on third-party summaries:

  • Exact current fee. The USD 200 figure appears only in secondary sources.
  • Retake waiting periods and rescheduling or cancellation cutoffs. These are governed by IBM and Pearson VUE policies; read the IBM Training Terms and Conditions and the IBM Credentials FAQ before you pay, since late changes can cost you the fee.
  • Credential validity and renewal. Commercial sources conflict between "no expiry" and three years, and neither claim is adopted here.
  • Scored vs. unscored question split. Not specified in the retrieved official sources.

If the credential's longer-term value is part of your timing decision, our C1000-201 ROI analysis and the C1000-201 jobs overview can help you weigh when to sit the exam relative to a role change or project.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are there specific testing windows for C1000-201 in 2026?

No fixed windows were identified. The exam is delivered through Pearson VUE, so you book an available appointment slot. Availability varies by location and delivery mode, so check Pearson VUE for current openings.

Can I take C1000-201 online from home?

Possibly. Test-center and OnVUE availability is subject to exam and country eligibility. Confirm that remote delivery is offered for C1000-201 in your country before you plan around it.

How long is the exam and how many questions are there?

The exam has 63 multiple-choice questions and a 90-minute time limit. The passing score is 45 correct answers out of 63 according to IBM's current exam record.

Do I need prior certification or training hours before booking?

No mandatory degree, prior certification, or training-hour total is listed in the retrieved current record. IBM describes Professional candidates as having at least two years of hands-on experience, but that is a candidate profile rather than a verified admission prerequisite.

How far ahead should I book?

Book far enough out to cover all six domains, with Workflow Development (25%) and User Development (22%) covered first. A roughly five-week runway works for many candidates with hands-on exposure; adjust based on your own experience and practice scores.

Ready to pass your C1000-201 exam?

Put this into practice with free C1000-201 questions across every exam domain.